Jerome of Ambrosio won a final sprint to win the Formula E ABB FIA victory in Marrakech after the collision between his longtime BMW teammates, Antonio Felix da Costa and Alexander Sims.The Mahindra Racing driver dominated the firing that followed the race The Virgin Racing riders were beaten by Robin Frijns and Sam Bird during the shooting of the safety car. Sims was attacking his teammate BMW Andretti outside the approach of the left turn of turn 7, at the end of the main straight of the track. blocked and then gathered at the edge of the turn, da Costa heading straight for the barrier, while Sims ran away but finished fourth in the queue of the safety car. The safety car circled the peloton for three rounds, with most of the peloton taking its last reserve in attack mode just four minutes from the race. Sims was the only one of the top four to shoot at the highest power available and was attacking Bird while the advent of Ambrosio was wiped out by Frijns. .B The Dutch pilot has not found a solution despite the blockage of D & # 39; Ambrosio in the last corner, then the finish line to bring it to 0.143 seconds. Bird thwarting Sims' attacks at the Turn 4/5 chicane and Turn 7 at He scored Ambrosio's first win on the road to the series, having won his previous two wins thanks to the penalties imposed after the race. He is now leading the standings with 12 points.

D'Ambrosio triumphs after collision of BMWPlus

At first, Bird was sluggish from pole and seemed to have the first place sealed in Turn 1, but his teammate in the front row, Jean-Eric Vergne, snuck inside and out. the pair was hit at the top. but the contact made Vergne turn and the peloton had to take urgent measures to avoid it. Sebastien Buemi and Mitch Evans fell from third and fourth on 13 and 14 March. There was also a contact between Nelson Piquet, Pascal Wehrlein and Lucas di Grassi. while HWA teammates Stoffel Vandoorne and Gary Paffett also clashed – with the two pilots retiring a little later due to the damage they suffered. Bir led the two BMW drivers – the Sims taking advantage of the chaos of Turn 1 for move to second position – at the beginning stages, before the duo changes position and da Costa takes Bird's pursuit on lap 11, which will become a 31-lap race. A group of six leading players form, with Frijns , from Ambrosio and di Grassi joining the three leaders. stand out at the front.Da Co Sta stalked Bird before shooting inside the Turn 4/5 chicane – take the lead after the British driver cut the corner and lost the exit, while Sims also outclassed his compatriot during the round of the lap 7.Once, both BMWs escaped and Bird receded to Frijns, then to Ambrosio and di Grassi.The BMW couple seemed to have taken the advantage before Ambrosio, who had dismissed Frijns, topped the standings. Six got closer to the leaders shortly before their dramatic collision. Vergne gave an impressive pace to DS Techeetah, who was recovering behind the pack after his rotation to finish fifth. At the end of the first lap, he was 10.7 seconds behind leader Bird, missing four seconds before the safety car appeared on lap 26. Andre Lotterer also scored from 21st on the starting grid to finish behind his teammate Vergne in P6. Grassi before the race was suspended.Buemi and Evans recovered to ei The ninth and ninth place. Daniel Abt finished 10th in the second Audi. Piquet finished 14th after taking the ninth place. Felipe Massa took the lead in the 18th rank. Wehrlein was the last to not finish. following the damage he suffered on lap 1.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap 1 Jerome Ambrosio Mahindra Mahindra 31 46m45.884s 2 Robin Frijns Virgin Audi 31 31 0.143s 3 Sam Bird Virgin Audi 31 0.461s 4 Alexander Sims BMW BMW 31 0.740s Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah DS 31 1.232s 6 Andre Lotterer DS DS 31 1.457s 7 Lucas of Grassi Audi Audi 31 1.633s 8 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Nissan 31 2.455s 9 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar 31 2.980s 10 Daniel Audi Abt Audi 31 4.014s 11 Jose Maria Lopez Dragon Penske 31 4.528s 12 Maximilian Gunther Dragon Penske 31 6.034s 13 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Venturi 31 6.790s 14 Nelson Piquet Jr. Jaguar Jaguar 31 6.833s 15 Oliver Rowland and Nissan 15 31.12s 16 Oliver Turvey NIO NIO 31 9.241s 17 Tom Dillmann NIO NIO 31 9.665s 18 Felipe Massa Venturi Venturi 31 10.250 – Antonio Felix da Costa BMW Retreat BMW 25 – Gary Paffett HWA Venturi 3 Retirement – Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Mahindra 1 Retirement – Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Venturi 1 Retreat

Get unlimited access to the best sports journalism in the world with Autosport Plus